Skip to content
February 12, 2010 / Adam + Dan

Shatterproof pint glasses

Picture mnapoleon

I really enjoy the thinking of the government and Home Office on this great revolutionary product.

To stop people getting seriously injured when being glassed they have ask a design team to create a safer pint glass, instead of spending time and money tackling thugs who go around actually doing this kind of thing.

These new and improved pint glasses are slightly modified to have a layer of resin that holds the glass together. This means that it does not shatter into small shards of sharp dangerous glass when put in an impact situation.

But does it mean that the glass is always going to be solid? Even after impact? I didn’t learn much from school physic classes but I did remember that when two moving forces make contact i.e. a glass and a head, there is going to be a force of impact so great that one of the objects in question will have to give or break.

Fair enough I agree that getting cut by the glass can leave you in a complete mess and could scare you face and life. But I was thinking that getting hit over the head with these new and improved but harder, less movable object could leave us in intensive care for other reasons.
Something that hard could shatter the skull.

Glasses would now be slightly heavier and more solid making them impossible to break. Maybe the impact could be compared to being attacked with a brick or something even more denser, blunter and dangerous.

I know I wouldn’t want this hitting my head knocking me out and even causing brain damage and also cracking my skull open anyways.

I might be all wrong about my assumptions, but from the video I watched these glasses only scare me more and have become one item I would not want on my bar tab.

Bookmark and Share

Click here to view main website

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ruby Rosamund / Feb 12 2010 10:04

    Have they not made them out of that stuff that breaks the same but holds the shards together? If the layer of resin is between the glass and your head then it will still break but will stay together, meaning you're less likely to get cut by it…

  2. aleceast / Feb 15 2010 11:34

    Never mind that. Is the glass half-full or half-empty?And whose round is it anyway?

Leave a Reply

